chair ready for stripping

It’s the nice to be beyond electrics and heating installation in the cottage. The kitchen’s installed and ‘country’ and cosy. I often sit at the window with my coffee, reading and writing my blog posts while the villagers go about their day, walking, riding bikes, or on horseback passing by. I love being here.

Hubby and I have been having great fun buying furniture to upcycle and make useful and decorative for our cottage. We picked up the above chair for £5.00, a real bargain. It had a wobbly leg and looked quite plain but I could see hubby sitting beside the fire in it, so we bid for it and here it is.

I decided to learn how to do upholstery from a Master upholsterer called Maria who works from her workshop at home and lets total novices like me learn the basics and also has experienced students repairing and reupholstering beautiful antique chairs. It’s a real challenge for me, however I’m determined to have a lovely comfy fireside armchair, uphostered in tartan wool.

On the first day I had to remove all the staples from the chair and the old fabric.

poor chair reveiled

My hands became very sore as I pulled out the staples. However,  it was worth it. As I ripped away the old fabric, the chair revealed itself. There were manufacturer’s labels which told us that the chair was made in Derbyshire,  in 2004. So the chair was very modern and according to Maria, good quality and probably manufactured by the reputable furniture company, Wesley Barrell. A good start then!

Tough work!

Eventually after many sore hours I had completed the stripping of the back of the chair. Maria thinks that the foam could be saved but more will be revealed next time. I am beginning an addictive new skill, saving chairs and becoming a bit of a chair detective. I wonder why this chair was abandoned,   because of its wobbly leg? Its forlorn upholstery fabric. I am going to enjoy rescuing and restoring it. Until next time. 🙂

2 thoughts on “Stripping my upcycled armchair

Leave a Reply

