Chair revealed

Buttons removed

When I’m stripping this chair of its layers of history, I feel that I’m intruding on its previous owners life. I found a vintage hairpin tucked away and a piece of crumpled faded newspaper with part of an old advert on it. You know how it is when you sit beside the fire with your legs curled up. You have a cup of tea in one hand and newspaper or book in the other. The creases down the sides of the chair are great to stash your book mark or to forget about a sweet wrapper, your afternoon treat. This chair probably belonged to a woman and I’m going to transform it into a chair for my husband. It will send him back to the Scottish highlands, to the heather moors and moody skies.

This is the beautiful 100% wool plaid wowen in a mill in Southern Scotland, Β in Dumfries and Galloway. I will be covering the back of the chair and the arms with this gorgeous soft snuggly fabric next week.

Scottish plaid fabric

cosy cottage fire

And my reward at the end of the day was curling up on the sofa with the dogs, sipping Rose wine and watching the flickering flames form images dancing in my mind to emerge in my poetry the next day or my novel…getting close to Novel writing month again!

5 thoughts on “Cosy evening after more stripping

  1. Wow… Looking forward to seeing the stages of your transformation.. And your post has reminded me about a rocking chair up in the loft and one similar to yours which we promised we would recover after we did the dinning chairs.. πŸ™‚ I have some of the same fabric left πŸ™‚ hopefully enough..

    Loved that you discovered the past through your finds in the folds of this chair.. I am sure who ever owned it before will love your transformation πŸ™‚ xxx

    Like

    1. Thank you Sue. It is exciting that the chair is now being lovingly restored and will become part of our history and the restoration of our old cottage. I hope the previous owner will like the beautiful soft fabric. πŸ™‚
      I am enjoying choosing fabric I like rather than buying a mass produced chair of dubious quality.
      I’d love a rocking chair, I could see one in our bedroom. πŸ™‚ I hope you get a chance to re-cover it.
      As the weather changes and gets cooler it feels natural to turn to traditional crafts and hobbies. I picked up some lovely big fir cones and plan to make a wreath for my front door. Keep warm and cosy Sue. Lolxx

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Thanks Sue. I’m going to make cushions with the remaining fabric. I’ve ordered a coordinating plain wool too, which I can’t wait to see. Can you see these comments? I’ve been playing with the look of this page, but I can’t see your first comment any more.
    πŸ™‚

    Like

Leave a Reply

